• Date and time: Saturday 8 June 2024, 7.30pm
  • Location: In-person only
    York Minster (Map)
  • Admission: Tickets: £25/£20 (£23/£18; students £7/£5); Unreserved Seating: £15 (£13; students £3), booking required

Book tickets

Event details

Elspeth Piggott, Helen Neeves  soprano 
Helena Cooke  mezzo-soprano 
James Beddoe  tenor 
Patrick Osborne  bass
Robert Hollingworth, John Stringer  conductors

Mozart   Mass in C minor, K. 427
Bruckner   Motets: Locus iste; Christus factus est
Bruckner   Te Deum in C, WAB 45
Elgar   Elegy, op. 58

University Choir, The 24 and University Symphony Orchestra join forces in the historic setting of York Minster for Mozart’s ‘Great’ Mass in C minor, providing a magnificent finale to our 2023/24 season. First performed in Salzburg in 1783, Mozart’s Mass in C minor remained incomplete on the composer’s death in 1791. Nevertheless, the piece works wonderfully in concert and is widely considered to be one of Mozart’s greatest choral works. While demonstrating the pomp and solemnity of Salzburgian traditions at the time, the Mass looks forward to Haydn’s symphony-masses and Mozart’s late operas – the Da Ponte trilogy, La clemenza di Tito and Die Zauberflöte – with some spectacular arias, a duet and a trio. The programme also includes a selection of works by Bruckner – as we celebrate the two-hundredth anniversary of the composer’s birth – including his great Te Deum in C which Bruckner described as ‘the pride of his life.’