• Date and time: Wednesday 21 February 2024, 7.30pm
  • Location: In-person only
    Sir Jack Lyons Concert Hall, Campus West, University of York (Map)
  • Admission: Tickets: £14; concessions £12; students £5, booking required

Book tickets

Event details

John Stringer  conductor
Pip Tall  clarinet
Michael Capecci  violin

Pēteris Vasks   Epifania
Weber   Clarinet Concerto no. 1 in F minor
Saint-Saëns   Introduction and Rondo Capriccioso
Mozart   Symphony no. 35 in D (‘Haffner’)

Mozart stated that the opening movement of his Haffner Symphony ‘must be played with great fire.’ Commissioned by the affluent Haffner family of Salzburg, the symphony was originally composed as a serenade to be performed at the ennoblement of Sigmund Haffner in 1782. Notable for its grand and energetic character, as well as the graceful and lyrical beauty of its slow movement, the Haffner Symphony has become one of Mozart’s most popular orchestral works. The programme also includes Weber’s First Clarinet Concerto and Saint-Saëns’ Introduction and Rondo Capriccioso, with third-year students Pip Tall and Michael Capecci as soloists, as well as Latvian composer Pēteris Vasks’ ethereal piece for string orchestra Epifania (‘Epiphany’).