• Date and time: Wednesday 10 May 2023, 7.30pm
  • Location: In-person only
    Sir Jack Lyons Concert Hall, Campus West, University of York (Map)
  • Admission: Tickets: £16; concessions £14; students £5, booking required

Book tickets

Event details

Yun-Peng Zhao  violin
Léo Marillier  violin
Franck Chevalier  viola
Pierre Morlet  cello
Joseph Houston  piano

Beethoven   String Quartet no. 13 in B-flat (with Große Fuge)
Ligeti   String Quartet no. 2
Thomas Simaku   con-ri-sonanza

Beethoven’s late quartets are among the composer’s most enigmatic, profound and personal works. Taking the listener on a journey across a spectrum of emotions, his six-movement quartet in B-flat, op. 130, heard here with the epic Große Fuge as Beethoven originally intended, is one of the most extraordinary and complex pieces in all classical music. The height of modernism in its time, Beethoven’s masterpiece is paired with one of the most significant chamber works from the second half of the twentieth century, as we celebrate Ligeti’s 100th anniversary, and acclaimed British pianist Joseph Houston joins Quatuor Diotima for York-based composer Thomas Simaku’s piano quintet, con-ri-sonanza.