• Date and time: Saturday 27 November 2021, 7pm
  • Location: Sir Jack Lyons Concert Hall, Campus West, University of York (Map)
  • Admission: Tickets: £12; concessions £10; students £5

Book tickets

Event details

Christopher Pearce  tuba
John Stringer  conductor

George Walker     Lyric for Strings
Thomas Ades     …but all shall be well
Edward Gregson      Tuba Concerto
Elgar      Polonia, op. 76

Lyric for Strings is one of African-American composer Geroge Walker’s best-known works; its sonorous harmonies and sumptuous string writing are reminiscent of Samuel Barber’s Adagio for Strings. Three lines from the last of T.S. Eliot’s Four Quartets inspired the tile of Thomas Ades’ first large-scale orchestral work whose intricate and slowly unfolding lines immerse the listener in a meditative sound world. Third-year student Christopher Pearce performs English composer Edward Gregson’s Tuba Concerto, and Elgar’s symphonic prelude Polonia, which includes references to Romantic and patriotic Polish music, draws this hour-long concert to a close.

Venue details

  • Wheelchair accessible