• Date and time: Saturday 11 June 2022, 7.30pm
  • Location: In-person only
    York Minster (Map)
  • Admission: Tickets: Front Nave £23 (£21; £7); Rear Nave £20 (£18; £5); Side Aisles £14 (£12; £3)

Book tickets

Event details

Ana Beard Fernández  soprano
Martha McLorinan  alto
Joshua Ellicott  tenor
Edward Jowle  bass
Eamonn Dougan  conductor

Dvořák     Stabat Mater
Clara Schumann     Abendfeier in Venedig
Robert Schumann     Talismane
Robert Schumann     Zuversicht
Josef Rheinberger     Abendlied

University of York Choir is delighted to be joined by Associate Conductor of The Sixteen, Eamonn Dougan, together with a star-studded lineup of soloists to perform one of Dvořák’s best-known sacred works in the historic setting of York Minster. Highly personal and moving, Dvořák’s Stabat Mater is often considered to have been written in the memory of the composer’s daughter Josefa who died when she was only two days old in the summer of 1875. The piece was left unfinished until the tragic loss of his second-born daughter Růžena and three-year-old son Otakar provoked Dvořák to complete it two years later. Portraying the Virgin Mary’s suffering at the time of Jesus’s crucifixion, this powerful and symphonic work takes the listener on a journey across a full spectrum of emotions, beginning with grief and despair and ending radiantly with hope and exultation.