• Date and time: Wednesday 2 February 2022, 7.30pm
  • Location: Sir Jack Lyons Concert Hall, Campus West, University of York (Map)
  • Admission: Tickets: £12; concessions £10; students £5

Book tickets

Event details

Alison Nairn  flute
Anna Benton  oboe
William Campbell  organ
Lucy Russell, Rachel Gray, Jennifer Cohen  directors

JD Heinichen     Overture from Orchestral Suite in G, S. 205
Purcell     Fantasia upon One Note, Z. 745
JF Fasch     Concerto for Flute and Oboe, FaWV L:G8 
Vivaldi     Concerto for Strings in C, RV 114
JH Schmelzer    Die Fechtschule ('The Fencing School') 
Telemann     Overture for 2 oboes and strings in C minor, TWV 55:c4
Handel     Organ Concerto no. 4 in F, op. 4
Purcell     Orchestral Suite from King Arthur, Z. 628

Kaleidoscopic Baroque! 

University Baroque Ensemble presents a delightful and intriguing selection of works from the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries. Their programme comprises a range of styles and forms, sound-worlds and colours and textures and orchestration, with pieces by Purcell, Vivaldi and Telemann. Second-year student William Campbell is the soloist in Handel’s Organ Concerto no. 4, and postgraduate Alison Nairn and final-year student Anna Benton perform Fasch’s Concerto for Flute and Oboe.