• Date and time: Wednesday 16 February 2022, 7.30pm
  • Location: In-person only
    Sir Jack Lyons Concert Hall, Campus West, University of York (Map)
  • Admission: Tickets: £16; concessions £14; students £5

Book tickets

Event details

Yun-Peng Zhao  violin
Léo Marillier  violin
Franck Chevalier  viola
Pierre Morlet  cello

Janáček     String Quartet no. 1 (‘Kreutzer Sonata’)
Clara Iannotta     A Failed Entertainment
Bartok     String Quartet no. 5 in B-flat major, Sz. 102

Winners of the European Cultural Heritage Award in 2018, Quatuor Diotima are well known to York audiences for their fresh insights into the music of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. Inspired by Leo Tolstoy's novella The Kreutzer Sonata, Janáček’s String Quartet no. 1 was composed in just two weeks in the October of 1923. Bartok’s lyrical and highly chromatic String Quartet no. 5 uses symmetrical and arch-like forms to create unity and balance, and Italian composer Clara Iannotta’s powerful work A Failed Entertainment was written for and first performed by Quatuor Diotima in 2013.