• Date and time: Wednesday 17 November 2021, 7.30pm
  • Location: In-person only
    Sir Jack Lyons Concert Hall, Campus West, University of York (Map)
  • Admission: Tickets: £20; concessions £18; students £5

Book tickets

Event details

Lucy Russell  violin
Pawel Siwczak  fortepiano

CPE Bach     Sonata in C minor, Wq 73 
A Scottish ditty     Jenny Dang the Weaver 
Mozart     Sonata in A, K. 305
Mozart     Sonata in E minor, K. 304
Beethoven     Sonata in F, op. 24 (‘Spring’)

A member of the Fitzwilliam String Quartet and an alumna of the University, celebrated British violinist Lucy Russell divides her time between performing on period instruments and their modern counterparts. She is joined by renowned Polish and British musician and winner of the Musica Britannica prize, Pawel Siwczak. Their programme takes you on a sonic journey to Vienna and Berlin, exploring the distinctive musical styles of these cities in the eighteenth century. The duo combines CPE Bach's melancholic Sonata in C minor and Mozart's exuberant Sonata in A with Beethoven's sublime 'Spring' sonata and Mozart's highly personal Sonata in E minor.

Venue details

  • Wheelchair accessible