• Date and time: Wednesday 27 October 2021, 7.30pm
  • Location: In-person only
    Sir Jack Lyons Concert Hall, Campus West, University of York (Map)
  • Audience: Open to the public
  • Admission: Tickets: £14; concessions £12; students £5

Book tickets

Event details

Michael Nyman, arr. Jenni Watson    Chasing Sheep Is Best Left to Shepherds
JS Bach, arr. Guy Passey     Selection from Preludes and Fugues
David Lancaster     Swan
Jenni Watson     Tinged
Mark Boden     New Work (world premiere)
Will Gregory     High Life
Claude Debussy, arr. James Crockford     Andantino, doucement expressif from String Quartet in G minor
Alastair Penman     Fragment, consider revising
Oliver Christophe Leith     A Day at the Spa (Part 2)
Ralph Carmichael, arr. Jim Fieldhouse     A Quiet Place
Astor Piazzolla, arr. Jenni Watson     Libertango
Astor Piazzolla, arr. Sally MacTaggart     Oblivion
Marc Mellits     Black

Described by The Times as ‘entirely irresistible’, the multi-award-winning Kaleidoscope Saxophone Quartet is an innovative collaboration between four young artists. They are equally at home playing classical repertoire and contemporary works and have performed at prestigious venues, such as the Wigmore Hall. They have also given the world premieres of pieces by some of the UK’s most talented young composers. Their programme features a selection of new works, including a world premiere by acclaimed Welsh composer Mark Boden and York-based composer David Lancaster’s 2011 work Swan, alongside stunning arrangements of classical pieces by Bach, Piazzolla and Debussy.


Venue details

  • Wheelchair accessible