Accessibility statement

University Symphony Orchestra

Saturday 27 November 2021 at 7.00PM
Sir Jack Lyons Concert Hall

Christopher Pearce  tuba

John Stringer  conductor

George Walker     Lyric for Strings

Thomas Ades     …but all shall be well

Edward Gregson      Tuba Concerto

Elgar      Polonia, op. 76

Lyric for Strings is one of African-American composer Geroge Walker’s best-known works; its sonorous harmonies and sumptuous string writing are reminiscent of Samuel Barber’s Adagio for Strings. Three lines from the last of T.S. Eliot’s Four Quartets inspired the tile of Thomas Ades’ first large-scale orchestral work whose intricate and slowly unfolding lines immerse the listener in a meditative sound world. Third-year student Christopher Pearce performs English composer Edward Gregson’s Tuba Concerto, and Elgar’s symphonic prelude Polonia, which includes references to Romantic and patriotic Polish music, draws this hour-long concert to a close.

Tickets: £12; concessions £10; students £5

Buy tickets


Box Office

01904 322439

Mailing list


Join the concerts mailing list

Upcoming events

24 September 2021
6 October 2021
13 October 2021

View all upcoming events