Accessibility statement

Pelléas Ensemble

Wednesday 28 October 2020 at 7.45PM

Luba Tunnicliffe viola

Henry Roberts flute

Oliver Wass harp

Debussy     Sonata for Flute, Viola and Harp 

Rameau     Cinquième Concert (from Pièces en Concert) 

John Stringer     Awakening Night (first performance

Prokofiev arr. Cohen     Selections from Romeo and Juliet 

The Pelléas Ensemble was formed at the Guildhall School of Music and Drama in 2011. Playing with 'verve and polish' (The Times), they won the Royal Philharmonic Society’s Henderson Chamber Ensemble Award in 2018, and the 2017 Elias Fawcett Award for Outstanding Chamber Ensemble at the Royal Overseas League competition. In 2016 they won both the Grand Prize and the Audience Prize in the St Martin-in-the-Fields Chamber Music Competition and were awarded a place on the prestigious Tillett Trust Young Artists' Programme. In 2015 they won First Prize at the British Harp Chamber Music Competition.

The trio by Debussy is the quintessential work for this combination of instruments which is so well suited to the distinctive French sound. As well as adding to their repertoire by arranging music, the Ensemble is commissioning original pieces, the latest of which is Awakening Night by York lecturer John Stringer.

To watch the performance, please visit our YouTube channel (link below) at the date and time shown above.

Tickets: Free; please consider making a donation


Box Office

01904 322439

Mailing list


Join the concerts mailing list