Accessibility statement

Masumi Yamamoto, harpsichord

Tuesday 22 June 2021 at 7.00PM
National Centre for Early Music

Masumi Yamamoto harpsichord

The Scarlatti Sphere

Domenico Scarlatti     Sonatas K. 8, K. 9, K. 10, K. 13, K. 21

Thomas Roseingrave     Introduction: Andante Moderato

James Nares     Lesson IV in F major

Maurice Greene     Lesson II in D major

Elizabeth Turner     Allegro from Lesson I in G minor

Elisabetta de Gambarini     Menuet and Variations in A major

The meeting in Venice of the young Thomas Roseingrave and Domenico Scarlatti heralded not only a firm friendship but also the start of the extraordinary interest in Scarlatti’s music in Britain, prompted by Rosingrave's publication of forty-two of the composer's early sonatas. Audiences were entranced by Scarlatti's music and composers, including Roseingrave, inspired by it. Masumi Yamamoto plays five of those early sonatas alongside music by his contemporaries, including York Minster organist James Nares and two of the earliest women to have their music published in England.

Masumi Yamamoto was a prize winner at the International Harpsichord Competition in Bruges and holds a PhD from the University of York.

Keeping our audiences safe

We have introduced a range of measures to keep you safe while attending our concerts. These are in line with current Government advice for indoor performances, and we will keep them under constant review as the situation develops. Please see our Covid-19 information for full details, as well as information about our ticketing policy and venues.

Tickets: £16

Buy tickets