Accessibility statement

University Symphony Orchestra, conductor John Stringer

University Symphony Orchestra

Saturday 30 November 2019 at 7.00PM
Sir Jack Lyons Concert Hall

This concert is sold out!


Archie Bonham piano

John Stringer conductor

Kaija Saariaho      Ciel d’Hiver
Debussy      Nocturnes
Rachmaninov      Vocalise
Rachmaninov      Piano Concerto no. 2 op. 18

Saariaho’s short work evokes a winter sky and evocatively connects to ‘Nuages’, the first of Debussy’s Nocturnes which was inspired by paintings by Whistler. These three movements shimmer with the sounds of distant processions and the movement of seascapes with distant, haunting, voices. Third-year student Archie Bonham is soloist in the rightly popular Rachmaninov concerto

Please note start time!

Tickets: £13; £11 concessions; £3 students


Box Office

01904 322439


Mailing list

Join the concerts mailing list

Join the concerts mailing list

Upcoming events

26 February 2020
28 February 2020
29 February 2020
29 February 2020

View all upcoming events