University Symphony Orchestra

University Symphony Orchestra

Saturday 7 March 2020 at 7.00PM
Sir Jack Lyons Concert Hall

Jakub Watrobski piano

Owen Burton conductor *

John Stringer conductor

Sibelius     The Dryad 
Rautavaara     Anadyomene *

Rautavaara     Piano Concerto no. 1

Arvo Pärt     Trisagion

Stravinsky      Symphony in Three Movements

A Finnish first half includes two works by Rautavaara:  the Debussy-inspired Anadyomene and the eclectic First Piano Concerto that concludes with a thrilling moto perpetuo. The soloist is finalist Jakub Watrobski and PhD student Owen Burton, whose focus is the music of Rautavaara, conducts Anadyomene. Stravinsky’s symphony is a tour de force ending the concert in a blaze of glory, but is prefaced with Pärt’s beautiful and often gentle work for strings that closely mirrors Orthodox texts.

Please note start time!

Tickets: £13; £11 concessions; £3 students

Buy tickets


Box Office

01904 322439


Mailing list

Join the concerts mailing list

Join the concerts mailing list

Upcoming events

20 November 2019
22 November 2019
27 November 2019

View all upcoming events