Accessibility statement

Peter Sheppard Skærved, violin
Roderick Chadwick, piano

Wednesday 18 November 2020 at 7.45PM

Beethoven     Sonata in A op. 30 no. 1

Thomas Simaku     ENgREnage (World Premiere)

Beethoven     Sonata in C minor op. 30 no. 2

Nicola LeFanu     Prelude after Grinling Gibbons

Beethoven     Sonata in G op. 30 no. 3

Beethoven's three opus 30 sonatas for violin and piano, written in 1802 by the 32-year old composer, balance the pastoral, the warlike and the dance-filled – encapsulating much of his music. Peter's blog about the sonatas, and his preparations for playing them, make fascinating reading:  Set within the sonatas are two works written for Peter Sheppard Skærved by York-based composers: Thomas Simaku's rich harmonies come to the fore in his work; inspired by Gibbons' 'King David' panel in Fairfax House, Nicola LeFanu's Prelude is written for solo violin.

Peter Sheppard Skærved is the dedicatee of over 400 works and his long-term collaborations with museums and galleries have resulted in exhibitions and concerts. He has undertaken pioneering research into 17th-century music for solo violin and has a particular affinity with the music of Paganini. His regular duo partner Roderick Chadwick is a writer and lecturer as well as an acclaimed pianist.  

Tickets: Free, but please consider giving a donation
Visit this page at the date and time above to enjoy this online broadcast


Box Office

01904 322439

Mailing list


Join the concerts mailing list

Upcoming events

28 October 2020
4 November 2020
11 November 2020

View all upcoming events